SALT + VINEGAR ROASTED CHICKPEAS

comments 4
F O O D / R E C I P E S

Tangerine Canteen Salt Vinegar Chickpeas

I said I was going to make these over the weekend and I kept my word (well, kind of as I made them this morning…) & although I knew that they were bound to be good, because salt & vinegar is one of the best flavour combinations out there, I just didn’t realise that they would be this good.

If you like salt & vinegar crisps, then you need to make these! They are a really healthy, yet delicious alternative (yep, it’s still January!) and with them being high in protein & fibre, they are really good to snack on. I sprinkled some over my salad this lunchtime too & it was super yum!

I’m properly addicted, as is my 3 year old!

Salt & Vinegar Roasted Chickpeas

Ingredients:

  • 2 x 400g tins of chickpeas, drained & rinsed
  • 3 – 4 cups distilled white vinegar
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp sea salt

Method:

  1. Place your chickpeas in a medium saucepan & cover with the vinegar & bring to the boil. As soon as they start boiling, remove from the heat. They now need to sit in the vinegar for 30 minutes.
  2. When the 30 minutes is almost up, pre-heat your oven to 400f/200c/gm6.
  3. Drain the chickpeas & place in a large roasting tin. Drizzle with the olive oil & sprinkle with the sea salt.
  4. Roast for 30-40 minutes, shaking once. You want them crispy, not burnt.
  5. Sprinkle with a little more salt if desired before allowing to cool.

4 Comments

  1. I was obsessed with salt and vinegar crisps when I was pregnant, but since then, not so much! But these may just tempt me back over!

    Like

Leave a comment